Handmade Lilies

The theme for this week’s challenge over at Less is More is handmade flowers – almost a challenge too far for me! I spent most of Saturday evening trying – and failing – to make roses with hearts cut out of antique ribbon. Then I remembered quilling & dug out my supplies.

I handcut the lily shapes, coloured them with Promarkers & shaped them round the scissors. I folded the quilling strips lengthways to make the stems but decided they looked a bit untidy so made the “vase” out of a scrap of paper.

I decided a simple finish was best although it looked much too cheerful to be the sympathy card I’d intended it to be at the outset, so it became a birthday card for my husband’s aunt who turns 85 soon. As she’s almost blind I thought she’d appreciate the 3D effect.
Cardstock: The Range Linen 300gsm
Backing paper: Papermania
Stamp: Imagination Crafts
6 thoughts on “Handmade Lilies

  1. your creations sound a bit like mine, the idea that you start with ends up with something completely different. In your case…a lovely card that I am sure will be very much appreciated by the recipient.

    Like

Leave a Reply

