Trends!

I’ve never been a trend-setter; well, not since I was 15 and was the first girl at school to have her hair cropped short! I don’t even particularly follow trends, either, even in card-making – finances usually dictate that I’m a few months behind. So imagine my surprise when, having decided the other day that I really should use some of the outline stickers I’ve had in my stash for years, I discover today that none other than Kristina Werner is extolling their virtues!

I needed a birthday card for my brother and as he likes tropical fish, this is what I came up with:

anthony1

The outline stickers started out silver but I coloured them with a black permanent marker. I watercoloured (well, what else?!) the background first using Cotman watercolours, then painted the fish using really bright colours, which I’m sure is nothing like any real fish! I mounted the picture onto black card, then sponged a background using a TCW stencil and Memento inks.

anthony2

 

One thought on “Trends!

  1. A fab card, Helen! Love your watercolour background and those fish look great. There has been way too much snobbishness around peel-offs – use them and be proud!

    Like

Leave a Reply

