Sweet 18

Front of card

My son spends every weekend going to 18th birthday parties at the moment, and has a habit of asking me at the last minute to make a card for the birthday boy or girl. This weekend is no exception and this is the card I came up with at short notice. I was inspired by the sketch at Sweet Sketch Wednesday 2:

sketch-105

and also Darnell’s NBUS challenge no 10 where, as always, she encourages us to use our “Never Before Used Schtuff”. This is one of my favourite challenges at the moment as it makes me think about using up stuff. So my NBUS today is the stitched square die which is by a firm called Gummiapan – I bought a number of dies from “Swedish House” at Event City yesterday and this is one of them.

Close up

The paper is from Here is Happy by My Mind’s Eye, the numbers are chipboard which has been gessoed in black then covered in Anita’s Clear Gloss. I also used drops of gloss in the centre of the patterned paper flowers. The small flowers are a Cuttlebug die with black gems in the centre, and the sentiment is by Clearly Besotted from their Sweet Little Sentiments set, stamped in Versamark and embossed in clear powder.

4 thoughts on “Sweet 18

  1. Great attention to detail, Helen, filling in the centers of those fun flowers! The PP and the glossy 18 are awesome! This card will make someone happy! What a good mom you and what a thoughtful son you have!! Thank you very much for playing in my NBUS Challenge #10! Hugs, Darnell

    Like

  2. Helen I do love what you did with this sketch, this is a lovely card and so pretty. Just hope all his friends appreciate your work. I have a 17.5 year old so the parties will start happening this year. Thanks so much for sharing your talent with us over at Sweet Sketch Wednesday 2 and good luck.

    Hugs
    Kathie SSW2~DT

    Like

Leave a Reply

